

Today's Paper » NATIONAL » KERALA

Published: January 18, 2014 00:00 IST | Updated: January 18, 2014 05:46 IST

Three selected for Young Scientist awards

Special Correspondent



To be presented at the inaugural of Kerala Science Congress

L. Ravi Shankar, Scientist, CSIR National Institute for Interdisciplinary Science and Technology (NIIST), Thiruvananthapuram; Mahesh Hariharan, Assistant Professor, Indian Institute for Science Education and Research (IISER), Thiruvananthapuram; and Vineeth Chandrasekharan Nair, Scientist, Space Physics Laboratory, Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre, Thiruvananthapuram, have been selected for the Kerala State Young Scientist awards for the year 2013.

KSCSTE award

Instituted by the Kerala State Council for Science, Technology and Environment (KSCSTE), the award carries a grant of Rs.50,000, a start-up research grant and travel support for a visit abroad for presenting the research work at a conference.

Dr. Ravi Shankar who is attached to the Agro-processing and Natural Products division at NIIST has been chosen for the award for his attempts to synthesise biologically relevant molecules using novel synthetic methodologies and test their biological properties.

Structural elucidation

He has been working on isolation and structural elucidation of natural products from aqueous extracts.

Dr. Hariharan has been selected for his contributions to several areas of photo sciences and biomolecules.

His current work focuses on light-matter interaction at ultrafast timescale.

Dr. Nair is credited with reporting the connection between the equatorial upper-atmosphere and polar Stratosphere during the unique geophysical events called the polar Stratospheric Sudden Warmings.

Forecasting model

This study is important for developing a forecasting model for the Indian region, which can improve the accuracy of GPS-based navigation.

The three young scientists will receive the award from Chief Minister Oommen Chandy at a function here on January 28 during the inaugural session of the Kerala Science Congress.

They will present their work at the plenary session of the Congress.